top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaleb Christensen

Jacks In The WPSL: Eleanor Dick

As the 2018 soccer season approaches, GoJacks.com spoke with six Jackrabbits who spent their summers playing in the Women's Premier Soccer League around the region. This six-part series will run for two weeks leading up to the team's report date of August 1. ---------- After finishing her first season with the Jackrabbits, Eleanor Dick contacted head coach Brock Thompson about her interest of playing in the Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL), more specifically the Kansas City Courage. "The same day I asked Brock about the WPSL he sent an email to one of the coaches about me," Dick said. "She replied saying I was welcomed a spot, and (after tryouts) I chose the Courage because it ended up being only a 20-minute drive to each practice and game from my parent's house." Dick had no idea what to expect going into the summer, but thought it went well and was a great way to maintain quality and high level touches over the summer getting ready for next season as a Jackrabbit. In her first season with the Courage, Dick agreed with all the other Jacks in the WPSL in the fact that it is a different experience versus playing at SDSU. "Mentally it has a whole different vibe," Dick said. "Through the fall season at SDSU it was very intense and serious. At KC Courage it was still intense in that we had expectations to do well, but there wasn't really anything to hold us accountable. It was more of a relaxed feel." She also said that the physicality was a lot different than at State. "We practiced three times a week and had one to two games on the weekends," Dick said. "Which compares to SDSU's four times a week of practice and one time a week to lift, with two games each weekend." Dick had the opportunity to get coached by different coaches as well with the Courage, and plans on taking that advice and bringing it back to South Dakota State. "One of our coaches is very into the mental part of the actual play and as a forward he taught me really specific ways to get in the centerback's head," Dick said. "Things like just nudging them a little, or starting way offsides to confuse them. I've heard some of those ideas before, but he was able to really explain how to do them more effectively. I think it's something I'll be able to implement in my game at SDSU." Dick also had the opportunity to not only get coached by talented coaches, but also play with some local coaches on the team. "I was definitely one of the youngest ones on the roster," Dick said. "I think KC Courage is unique in that it truly is open to all ages, two of our starters were 43 and 33 years old. I played with a lot of local coaches too, one being the assistant coach at the University of Central Missouri, who won the 2017 Division II National Championship. It was really interesting to listen to their perspective about the game as well." Even though there a lot of older people on the team, she was able to talk with some of the teammates that were closer to her age as well. "It was also fun talking to the other girls still in college or just recently graduated about their experiences at their schools," Dick said. "Each person brought something different to the game that made our team blend together in a really cool way." With all the advice she got from the several different people on the team, Dick had some area's in her game that she wanted to focus on a little more than others. "Specifically, I was focusing on making smarter, faster runs up top without the ball," Dick said. "I play center forward and sometimes I tend to wander too much waiting for the ball, so this summer I really focused on holding my position until it was time for me to make the appropriate run." Going into her second year at SDSU, Dick definitely feels that she that she can bring what she learned in the summer to the Jacks this next season. "I think it really just gave me a time to play the game I love without the added pressure," Dick said. "I was able to work on specific things and get better and maintain touches, so I'll come in fresh and ready to go at SDSU." The Jackrabbits return to campus for fall camp Aug. 1 and will open the season with an exhibition at Minnesota on Aug. 11. Single-match tickets and a limited number of season ticket packages are on sale now through the Jackrabbit Ticket Office. Tickets can be purchased in person, online at JackrabbitTickets.com or over the phone by calling (605) 688-5422. Part four of the series features Annie Williams, and will be available on Wednesday. Read past features below: Part one: Bianca Madonia (Wednesday, July 18) Part two: Maggie Smither (Friday, July 20)

-GoJacks.com-

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page