top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaleb Christensen

Jacks In The WPSL: Bianca Madonia

As the 2018 soccer season approaches, GoJacks.com spoke with six Jackrabbits who spent their summers playing in the Women's Premier Soccer League around the region. This six-part series will run for two weeks leading up to the team's report date of August 1. ---------- Senior Bianca Madonia looks to cap off her senior season in a similar fashion to her last three at SDSU, with a Summit League championship. But before her senior season starts, she has been back in her home state of Illinois playing for the Chicago City Soccer Club in the Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL). "This summer has been great," Madonia said. "We just ended our season this past weekend but it was a great experience. I learned a lot about myself as a player." The WPSL is a different situation and playing style from playing here at SDSU. Madonia said it took some time to get used to but once she did she loved it. "Playing in the WPSL was very different," Madonia said. "At times, we played a different formation that we don't normally play at SDSU so adjusting to that was a learning experience." She also noted that it was challenging at times not having that same chemistry as she does with her teammates back in Brookings. "My teammates at SDSU know how I play, where I'm going to run and when I'm going to dribble," Madonia said. "I thought learning how to play with different players was a cool experience, but was definitely different than playing at SDSU." The best advice Madonia has learned this summer from her coaches has been to just go out and have fun. "Sometimes we forget why we do what we do in the summer to prepare for our college season," Madonia said. "Reminding myself how passionate I am about soccer helps me play better because then I play free." One of the major benefits of the WPSL is the ability to play with several different players from different teams and of different ages. For Madonia this was one of the best parts of the opportunity. "I think it was easily the best choice I could have made," Madonia said. "Playing with different players with different talents was a great learning experience. It was also a very competitive training environment and made me a better player, physically and mentally." Going into her last season as a Jackrabbit, Madonia is still looking to improve her skills in all areas of her game, but there has been some specific areas that she has been focusing on a little more this summer in the WPSL. "I have been working on my mentality this summer,"  Madonia said. "I feel like my mental game has made a break through this summer, in the past I was a fearless player but after two major knee injuries I haven't been as fearless. I can't wait to show my fearlessness this next season at SDSU." With her breakthrough on her mentality for the next season she also wanted to improve on her one-on-one ability, defensive ability and her strength and fitness for next season. "One of my favorite thing is going one-on-one against defenders," Madonia said. "I feel like it is one of my strengths as a wing player, so if I continue to work on it I believe I can be more of a threat. I've also been working on my strength since I am smaller than most players. I want to take pride in knowing that my strength helps me be a fighter on the field." She also hopes to become a better defender next season and said that even though she plays forward that if her intensity on defense is higher she could have all the aspects of a strong, dynamic forward. Madonia is excited to get back and bring the things she has learned from the summer to the Jackrabbits. "Learning from different coaches and players is always a great thing because now I can bring what I learned back to SDSU," Madonia said. "Playing within a competitive training environment like the WPSL will definitely help my team this fall." The Jackrabbits return to campus for fall camp Aug. 1 and will open the season with an exhibition at Minnesota on Aug. 11. Single-match tickets and a limited number of season ticket packages are on sale now through the Jackrabbit Ticket Office. Tickets can be purchased in person, online at JackrabbitTickets.com or over the phone by calling (605) 688-5422. Part two of the series features Maggie Smither, and will be available Friday.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page